301 General Provisions
  • 28 Feb 2024

301 General Provisions

Article Summary


HERS Update to Standard ANSI/RESNET/ICC 301-2019
MINHERS Addendum 42 adopted Standard ANSI/RESNET/ICC 301-2019 to replace Standard ANSI/RESNET/ICC 301-2014 as the basis for calculation of the HERS rating. Addendum 42 and has established a “Mandatory Compliance Date” of January 1, 2022. See Section 502.3.2 for the definition “Mandatory Compliance Date” and how it applies to your Rating. Furthermore, for any Rating using Standard 301-2019, the RESNET Guidelines for Multifamily Energy Ratings may no longer be used except as allowed by Section 303.1 Exception 6 . Dwelling Units in buildings issued a building permit prior to January 1, 2022 may continue to use the Guidelines pursuant to the requirements of Exception 4.

301.1 Purpose

The provisions of this Standard establish residential energy rating and labeling standards, consistent with the provisions of the Energy Policy Act 1992 that any provider of home energy ratings may follow to produce uniform energy ratings for Residential Buildings.

301.2 Scope

These Standards apply to existing or proposed, site-constructed or manufactured, one- and two-family Dwellings and to Dwelling Units in Residential Buildings not over three Stories Above Grade Plan in height containing multiple Dwelling Units.

Exception 1: These Standards also apply to Dwelling Units in multi-family buildings four and five stories above grade that are certified through the EPA’s ENERGY STAR certified homes program.

Exception 2: These Standards also apply to Townhouses and single-family Dwellings four Stories Above Grade Plane in height.

Exception 3: These Standards also apply to Dwelling Units and Sleeping Units in multifamily buildings over three Stories Above Grade Plane in height, if they are compliant with RESNET’s Guidelines for Multifamily Energy Ratings.

301.3 Relationship to Other Standards.

This Standard is a companion to Standard MINHERS Chapter 1, “National Accreditation Procedures for Home Energy Rating Systems”; Standard MINHERS Chapter 2, “Nation Rater Training and Certifying Standard and Standard; Standard MINHERS Chapter 6, "National Standard for Sampled Ratings" and; MINHERS Chapter 9 “RESNET National Standard for Quality Assurance”.